Margaret Hillis Award for Choral Excellence

  • Favorites (0)
  • Views (6130)

We congratulate The Crossing, the 2015 recipient of the Margaret Hillis Award! For a complete list of awardees, please see our 2015 Awards press release.

This award honors the memory of Margaret Hillis, founder of the Chicago Symphony Chorus and its conductor for 37 years, for her more than 40 years of professional achievement and outstanding contributions to the choral art. An engraved plaque and cash award of $5,000 is presented annually to a member chorus that demonstrates artistic excellence, a strong organizational structure, and a commitment to outreach, education, and/or culturally diverse activities.

Eligibility rotates through a three-year cycle:

  • 2016: Adult volunteer choruses
  • 2017: Children's/youth choruses
  • 2018: Professional and professional-core choruses

A chorus may win this award only once.

The award winner will be selected by a panel of judges consisting of the Chairman of Chorus America or an appointed delegate, the President of Chorus America or an appointed delegate, a member of the Board of Directors of Chorus America, and a conductor or singer from a Chorus America member chorus, who is not presently serving on the Chorus America Board and whose chorus will not be under consideration for the award.

2016 Application Information

Past Recipients

2015 The Crossing
2014 Los Angeles Children's Chorus
2013 Atlanta Master Chorale (formerly known as the Atlanta Sacred Chorale)
2012 Los Angeles Master Chorale
2011 Boston Children’s Chorus
2010 Choral Arts (Seattle, WA)
2009 Cantus
2008 Anima (formerly known as the Glen Ellyn Children's Chorus)
2007 National Lutheran Choir
2006 Grant Park Chorus
2005 Conspirare
The Rose Ensemble
2004 SHALLAWAY-Newfoundland and Labrador Youth in Chorus
(formerly known as Newfoundland Symphony Youth Choir)
2003 Mormon Tabernacle Choir
Seattle Pro Musica
2002 Choral Arts Society of Philadelphia
2001 Gregg Smith Singers
2000 San Francisco Girls Chorus
1999 Master Chorale of Washington (formerly known as Paul Hill Chorale)
1998 Vancouver Chamber Choir
1997 Detroit Concert Choir
1996 VocalEssence (formerly known as Plymouth Music Series)
1995 Chanticleer
1994 Susquehanna Chorale
1993 Pacific Chorale
1992 Dale Warland Singers