Dale Warland Singers Commission Award

  • Favorites (0)
  • Views (4716)

To honor the life-long commitment of Dale Warland to new music, the American Composers Forum will offer an annual $5,000 cash award at the Chorus America Conference for the commission of a new choral work. The award is made possible by the Dale Warland Singers Fund for New Choral Music, a permanently restricted endowment fund established in 2004 to honor Dale and the Singers. The Dale Warland Singers Commission Award was created in 2008.

All Chorus America member choruses in good standing may apply. Choruses will apply for the award in partnership with a composer of their choice for a specified commission project. The winner will be chosen by a panel of three people: Dale Warland, a choral conductor (to be chosen by Chorus America), and a composer (to be chosen by the American Composers Forum). The new work must be premiered by the chorus within two years of the award.

Eligibility rotates through a three-year cycle:

  • 2015: Children's/youth choruses
  • 2016: Professional and professional-core choruses
  • 2017: Adult volunteer choruses

2015 Application Information

Past Recipients

2014 Dolce Canto & John Muehleisen
2013 The Crossing & Joel Puckett
2012 Young People's Chorus of New York City & Missy Mazzoli
2011 Utah Chamber Artists & Tarik O’Regan
2010 Conspirare & Eric Banks
2009 Anima & Nico Muhly
2008 Chanticleer & Shawn Crouch