Robert Shaw Conducting Fellowship (Archive)

The Robert Shaw Conducting Fellowship, launched in 2002 and suspended in 2006 due to the sale of Warner Bros Music, the award's sponsor, honored Robert Shaw's legacy in the choral arts. The award annually recognized outstanding, emerging conductors in North America who exemplified the highest standards of choral performance. Recipients of this award were highly skilled, talented conductors who are committed to a career in choral music and are dedicated to the artistic growth of the art form.

A panel of three judges selected the recipient. The panel was constituted of the conductor of a professional member chorus, appointed by the Executive Committee of the Board of Chorus America; a conductor board member of Chorus America, appointed by the Chairman of the Board of Chorus America; and the chair of the Chorus America Artistic Services Committee, or that person's designee.

Past Recipients

2005 Catherine Sailer
2004 Patrick Dupré Quigley
2003 Jin Kim
2002 Josephine Lee

Get News